Tuesday, March 18, 2008

You're so beautiful, you could be a waitress...

OK. Let me just start by saying that I called it. Well, it's not official yet, but it might as well be. See my first post. I mentioned Johnny Cueto, a pitcher in the Reds' organization. He has been tearing up the spring leagues down there in Florida, and looks to be a shoe in for the starting rotation. You don't believe me? Here. The Reds are looking good. Only 13 more days until Opening Day. Oh, and the Cubs suck.

Combined with the start of baseball season, this might be my most favorite time of year. That's right, it's March Mayhem time. I say Mayhem, because apparently, Madness is a copyrighted term. Although, I do know a number of future lawyers, so by the time I get sued for using Madness, they could represent me. And besides, I'm just a lowly blogger. CBS is probably the only one who actually has to use the term Mayhem instead of madness. Losers.

So ok, it's March Madness time, and it's also time for one of the greatest bracket pools this world has ever seen, and that is the Buckley Basketball Bonanza®. If you have not joined the Bonanza® yet, I highly suggest it (Evan Buckley, Bonanza® King, paid for no part for this advertisement; it is merely an endorsement on behalf of "I like sports. You should too.") So to my loyal readers out there, join the Bonanza®, you will not regret it.

I was really hoping UK wouldn't make the tournament, especially when Georgia won. I thought they were done. But, as it seems, a name gets you into the tournament. There are several examples of this throughout the bracket (with RPI and Strength of Schedule numbers).

Teams that got in based on name/basketball tradition/etc...
-Kentucky (RPI: 57/SOS: 20)
-Arizona (RPI: 38/SOS: 2)

Other teams that got in that shouldn't have:
-Oregon (RPI: 58/SOS: 33)
-St. Joseph's (RPI: 45/SOS: 51)

Teams that got left out because of their lack of name/basketball tradition/etc...
-Dayton (RPI: 32/SOS: 27)
-Virginia Tech (RPI: 54/SOS: 36)
-Illinois State (RPI: 33/SOS: 69)

I wanted to include Arizona State (RPI: 82/SOS: 87) in that list, but I just couldn't. A team with those kind of numbers just shouldn't get in, no matter who they beat. The committee says they value the computer rankings and strength of schedule number highly, so based on this, ASU simply has no argument, in my opinion. Even if they did beat Arizona twice.

Which just goes to prove my point that Arizona shouldn't have gotten in. Even thought they had the 2nd toughest schedule. They only went 18-14. I think Dayton got the biggest snub. They are a quality team. And they have road wins over Louisville and Pittsburgh. And they have one of the best players in the country in Brian (Bip) Roberts. If South Alabama (RPI: 37/SOS: 120) gets an at large bid, Dayton should get an at large bid. Likewise, if Miami (RPI: 34/SOS: 40) got in, Dayton should get in.

I also have a problem with the SEC getting 6 teams in. That is partially due to my disdain for the SEC. But also, I just think 6 teams is way too many for a mediocre conference. The SEC is apparently ranked 4th. I think that's bogus. The Big East is ranked 5th. We all know that the Big East is much better top to bottom than the SEC. The ACC was ranked 3rd and only got 4 teams in. Whatever. I can't figure this out.

Louisville got a 3-seed in the toughest region. But I think they got a pretty good draw to the regional finals. Out of all of the 2-seeds, they match up the best with Tennessee. Tennessee plays no defense and has a laughable inside game. Louisville's front line would dominate the Vols if that matchup were to occur. As for North Carolina, that could be a tough game. However, that assumes that UNC makes it that far. They are a good team, very good. But they have looked beatable at times. The refs just need to stop giving "Psycho T" every call in the history of mankind. I think Notre Dame could give them a run for their money. If McAlarney and Harangody have good games, I can see an Irish upset, leaving a rematch with the Cards. I like Louisville to make it to at least to the Elite Eight, if not further (National Title game anyone?).

As for everything else, I like Kansas, Texas and UCLA to make it out of their respective regions. But watch out for Xavier, Stanford, and Pittsburgh (who Bob Knight picked to win it all). I think these are teams capable of making deep runs. Also, I could see a situation where the Big East gets at least 2 teams to the Elite Eight, and maybe even 5 (Louisville, G-town, and maybe UConn, Pitt, and Notre Dame).

I hope this post makes up for last weeks subpar outing. And my week absence. If not, well, maybe you should find a new sports blog.

Friday, March 7, 2008

Who knew I was so popular?

So it's been a while since my last post, and my deepest apologies to all of my faithful readers (Darnell and Court). It's been a crazy week here at the James Breckenridge Speed School of Engineering. Who knew I had to be so fluent in electronics to be a mechanical engineer?

Enough with the small talk; on to the important stuff. Obviously, my Cards have a huge game tomorrow, at Georgetown for the Big East title. Did I mention its for the Big East crown? I mean, this game will decide the regular season champ of a conference that is way better than the SEC will ever be (sorry, I had to get a jab in there). According to the commissioner Mike Tranghese, this is the first time in 25 years that the regular season champion will be decided in the final game of the season. On a side note, Connecticut lost last night, which means that even with a U of L loss on Saturday, the Cards still lock up a 2-seed in the Big East Tournament next week at Madison Square Garden.

With the recent surge by UK, I am beginning to accept the fact that they might actually make the tournament (as much as it pains me to accept anything from UK, ever). But this feeling poses an interesting question. One that was discussed at length on one of my favorite local sports talk radio shows, "The Afternoon Underdogs" on 790 AM. The question is this:

Which would make you happier? U of L getting a 1 or 2-seed in the tournament while UK makes the tournament, or would you take a 4-seed in the tourney and see UK get left out?

And to UK fans, would you be happy if UK failed to make the tournament and U of L got a 4-seed and lost in the first round, or would you rather have U of L get a 2-seed, make a final four/national championship run and UK make the tournament?

It's interesting, but ultimately, I would have to take the choice that meant better things for my team. I wouldn't mind UK making the tournament if U of L got a 1 or 2 seed. But, as one caller stated, he would gladly take a 4-seed for U of L, UK not make the tournament, and Minnesota (and Tubby) make the dance.

As much as I despise UK and most of their fans, I find it hard to accept a low seed just to see UK get left out; although, it would bring me great joy to watch UK play in the NIT. Let me know what you guys think.

On to the Bengals, and their odd management. So they go after Shaun Rogers of the Lions, and claim to have made a deal with him, when they actually hadn't. He ended up going to the Browns (the freakin Browns!). I'm really confused. Not by them claiming to have made a deal with him. But does anyone remember what happened last year? This team had something like 10 players arrested last year, and now says they will go after people that are "character" guys. Well, um, Rogers doesn't exactly fit that mold. He's a guy that's always been talented, but has a history of being lazy and being a problem in the locker room. Yep. This is the guy the Bengals want.

Then, they come out and say they want to switch to a 3-4 defense. So they go out and get a d-lineman who is good. You probably think they got a lineman who has a history of performing well in a 3-4 defense. Nope. They got a guy that is good, in Antwan Odom, from the Titans, but he just doesn't fit their needs right now. I don't know. Hopefully someone in that organization has a plan. Maybe Carson Palmer should just become the team Owner/Head Coach/Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks Coach/WR coach. I trust him, and him only. And maybe T.J. But that's it. And Rudi too (OK, I trust everyone except Chad and Mike Brown).

I'll be gone next week, so no post until after the Big East tournament. It will take me a while to get up to speed with the world of sports once I get back. Anyone who is dissatisfied with this post, blame Darnell, he rushed it out of me.